Private to Public and then back to Private
Our community is private right now, and we want to open it up to the public for two weeks. We want to give the public a preview, and then shut off access after two weeks.
My Question: If we make the forum public, can we then turn off access to new users when we make it private again?
Hi Derek Sawyer , thanks for your question! If you make your forum public, then later make it private again, then any users who joined during the public period will still have access. You can remove a user's access by going to Admin > Users, locating the user and selecting "Remove" from the gear menu.
Another option that may be useful in this case is to "Require Sign-up Approval" (in Admin > Settings > Moderation). When your forum is public, anyone can view the content but they must sign up to reply or add new posts. With "Require Sign-up Approval" enabled, you have the option to either approve or deny their signup request.