Removing, Blocking, and Deleting Users
This article describes options for removing users (blocking their access) as well as permanently deleting users.
This is most commonly used option for removing a user, as well as blocking their access. Blocking a user removes their ability to log in and stops their email notifications. In addition, they will not be able to sign up again using the same email address. Optionally, all posts for a blocked user can be removed.
Scenarios for when you would block a user:
- When a staff member has left your company.
- When a member is no longer participating in your organization.
- When a member is no longer subscribing to your service.
- When a community member has violated your community guidelines.
- When you need a remove a user and want to have the option of adding them back in the future.
Benefits of Blocking Users:
- You have the option to undo this option. At any time, you can unblock a user and all of their posts are restored to their profile. For example, if an employee returns to your company, you can restore them and their posts will remain associated with their account.
- The blocked user list is accessible by moderators for review.
- Blocked users are prevented from signing up again using the same email address.
How to Block a User
Go to Admin > Users and locate the user. Click the cog icon and select Block User. This will remove their access to the system, and they will no longer receive email notifications.
- To remove all posts by a blocked user, select Remove Postings.
- To unblock a user, select Unblock User. Their posts will be restored to their profile.
Deleting a user permanently deletes the user and all of their data. This action cannot be undone, so proceed with caution.
Scenarios for when you would delete a user:
- When a member has requested that their account and data be permanently deleted.
- When you need to comply with a EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) subjects' right to be forgotten and the right to erasure.
- When you created test accounts while configuring your community and want them to be permanently removed.
Important to remember:
- Keep in mind that deleting a member is a permanent action and cannot be undone (not even by our team!)
- A deleted user can later sign up with the same email address.
How to Delete a User
Go to Admin > Users and locate the user. Click to expand their details, then expand Data Privacy.
You will see two options:
- Delete user and anonymize posts: Use this option if you want permanently delete the user, but keep their posts in the community. Their posts will be anonymized, meaning their name is removed and their profile picture is deleted. Only the text of their posts remain.
- Delete user and delete posts: Use this option if you want permanently delete the user, AND delete all of their posts.
Deleting a user is permanent, and there is no undo.